Firefighter I Academy

Nov 4 2017 - Jun 10 2018


The South Bay Regional Fire Academy (SBRFA) is an 8 month part-time program (632 hours). The Fire Academy provides basic fire fighter hands-on skills and didactic training required by the California State Fire Training Fire Fighter I Curriculum. SBFRA training exceeds the standards for certification by the State Board of Fire Services and the Office of the State Fire Marshal. SBRFA is an Accredited Regional Training Program (ARTP) with State Fire Training.


Public Safety First Aid and CPR (CA Health and Safety Code 1797.182)


632 Hours


15 Units at Gavilan College

2 Units at Foothill College

Registration will be completed through the Fire Academy


State Fire Training Accredited Academy Course Completion from SBRFA; ICS-100, 200; Fire Control 1, 2, 3B, 6; CAL Fire Basic Wildland FF; Auto Extrication; Haz Mat FRO; Firefighter Survival; Confined Space Awareness; LARRO and other classes.

College of Record

Gavilan College


Main Office & Classroom:

South Bay Regional Public Safety Training Consortium
560 Bailey Avenue
San Jose, CA 95141

Off-Site Training Locations Include:

San Jose FD Training Center
Palo Alto FD Training Tower
Hollister FD / Briggs Bldg.
Other sites as needed


$1,025.00 – Required Deposit
$2,487.00 – (less deposit) Total Tuition


$300.00.00 - SBRFA / State Fire FFI Certification Testing - Due 03/01/2018
$132.00 - Fire Academy Prep Class begins 10/08/2017-10/22/2017 Sat/Sun
$1,000.00 - (Estimated) for PPE & SCBA Rental to vendor
$275.00 - (Estimated) for Class B Uniforms to vendor


Students may reserve a spot in the academy by paying the $1,025 deposit or paying the full tuition. All students will be required to pay full academy tuition no less than 30 calendar days prior to the first day of the Fire Academy. Any student canceling their reservation after the 30 calendar day period has passed will forfeit their reservation and deposit amount. Last minute cancellations may be subject to additional late cancellation fees.

E-mail Nicole Lara at


If you are not a U.S. citizen but have a Permanent Resident card, email a copy of the front and back of the card.


Out of state fees may apply if you are not a California resident. Please contact our office for questions.
Out of State or Non-Affiliated students who have not lived in California for at least one (1) year and one (1) day prior to start of college semester are subject to "out of state" college registration fees in addition to the fees listed above. Please check with our staff for details and exact costs.


*ALL FEES ARE SUBJECT TO CHANGE. NO EXCEPTIONS. When possible students will be advised of any fee changes prior to course start date. Tuition fee increases made at anytime by the State Chancellor's office may require collection of additional fees from students.
We Accept Visa, MasterCard, Money Order, Cashier's Check, Cash or Agency Billing (by arrangement). Make Money Order or Cashiers Checks payable to: SBRPSTC

This program is presented through the South Bay Regional Public Safety Training Consortium of Community Colleges (SBRPSTC), which includes Gavilan College, Monterey Peninsula College, Ohlone College, Hartnell College, Foothill College, Lake Tahoe Community College, Mission College, College of San Mateo, Cabrillo College and the San Jose Evergreen Community College District.
Only courses and programs presented for college credit will be funded, transcripted and certified through one of these accredited institutions.

All classes require full payment or a designated deposit at time of reservation. We accept Visa and MasterCard (a transaction fee of 2% will apply), cash, money order and cashier's check (made payable to SBRPSTC). Agency billing may also be arranged. Financial aid and VA benefits may be available. All fees subject to change.

Meeting days/times

11/04/2017 - 06/10/2018 Every Friday Evening 1800 - 2200 Every Saturday and Sunday 0800 - 1800