Basic Police Academy Modular Level One course

This 536-hour course includes fundamental principles, procedures and techniques of law enforcement, including; criminal law, patrol procedures, cultural diversity, investigative procedures, report writing, defensive tactics, firearms, community relations, police vehicle operations, traffic enforcement and accident investigation. The course satisfies all minimum required training mandates for POST Entry Level One Peace Officer.

This course is designed and intended for employed or aspiring Reserve Level One candidates wishing to meet all training requirements for a Reserve Level One Peace Officer in the State of California.

 

Minimum Standards for Employment

The minimum selection standards for peace officers in California are set forth in Government Code Sections 1029 and 1031. Every California peace officer must:

  • Be free of any felony convictions;
  • Be a citizen of the United States or a permanent resident alien who is eligible for and has applied for citizenship (CHP officers must be US citizens at time of appointment);
  • Be at least 18 years of age;
  • Be fingerprinted for purposes of search of local, state, and national fingerprint files to disclose any criminal record;
  • Be of good moral character, as determined by a thorough background investigation;
  • Be a high school graduate, pass the General Education Development test or have attained a two-year or four-year degree from an accredited institution; and
  • Be found to be free from any physical, emotional, or mental condition which might adversely affect the exercise of the powers of a peace officer.

 

Registration

Each applicant must:

  • Pass the POST Reading/Writing Test (see test info and schedule);
  • Pass the Physical Agility WSTB Test (see test info and schedule);
  • Successfully complete Basic Police Academy Modular Level Three and Basic Police Academy Modular Level Two and, if applicable (see downloads page), provide a POST Training Profile;
  • Successfully complete Level Two End-of-course Proficiency Exam within 12 months of the start of the Level One course; and
  • Complete the Academy Application process including medical clearance, proof of medical insurance, DMV history and DOJ Firearms Clearance.

Contact our main office for registration questions at (408) 270-6458.