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SAFETY CONSORITUM,
FIRE NUGGETS, AND
CAL FIRE
PRESENT:

Chief Fire Officer 3A

CLASS DESCRIPTION:

This course provides students with a basic knowledge of DATE & TIME:

the human resources requirements related to the roles and March 22 - March 25, 2016
responsibilities of a Chief Fire Officer including 0900 - 1700

developing plans for providing employee accommodation,

developing hiring procedures, establishing personnel LOCATION:
assignments, describing methods of facilitating and 7370 Rosanna Street
encouraging professional development, developing an Gilroy, CA 95020

ongoing education training program, developing promotion
procedures, developing proposals for improving employee COST:

benefits, and developing a measurable accident and injury $270.00 per person
prevention program. (includes SFM Certification)

Class limited to first 25 individuals to register.

COURSE COORDINATOR TO REGISTER:

Nick Ciardella South Bay Regional Public
Battalion Chief Safety Training

(408) 472-1605 (408) 270-6458

nick.ciardella@fire.ca.gov . .
@ 8 firereservations@theacademy.ca.gov

REQUIRED COURSE MATERIALS & TEXTBOOKS:
-Chief Officer: Principles and Practice
(International Association of Fire Chiefs, Ist edition, Jones & Bartlett Learning, ISBN: 9780763779290)
-Manager's Guide to the California Firefighters Bill of Rights Act

(Martin J. Mayer and Kevin Johnson, 1st edition, ISBN: 9780981767222)

‘Pocket Guide to the Firefighters Procedural Bill of Rights Act

(J. Scott Tiedemann, 3rd edition 2014, California Public Employee Relations Program,
http://cper.berkeley.edu/pocketguide/guidel1 5. html)

INSTRUCTORS:

Kevin Conant - Battalion Chief (Ret.) - San Jose Fire Department
Stewart Roth - Division Chief - Monterey Fire Department

CANCELLATION POLICY:

Out of consideration for people who are on a waiting list please cancel your reservation no later
than 10 business days prior to first day of class. After the 10-day cancellation period, students will
forfeit full payment. Substitutions or transfer of registration to another (qualified public safety)
member is permitted




